SSR Enabled

Quality S5000 field for streets of Adelaide 

Published at 11/24/2022

A 15 strong field of high-quality S5000 drivers will take to the streets for the VALO Adelaide 500 for the final of its Tasman Series.

Along with ex-Formula 1 star Giancarlo Fisichella, the field will include Tasman series leader and national Trans Am champion Nathan Herne, defending series champion Aaron Cameron, current Gold Star Champion Joey Mawson.

Cameron, a TCR regular, missed the Gold Coast 500 round, and will return via the #1 Valvoline GRM entry usually steered by James Golding.

Joining Fisichella as another high profile return driver, is two-time Gold Star Champion, and retiring S5000 pioneer Tim Macrow.

Fisichella returns for his second taste of S5000’s following the shortened 2020 Australian Grand Prix event, while Macrow will hope to end his full-time racing career on a high, before he sets about running a two-car team in next year’s season.

2022 Gold Star Champion Joey Mawson will be hoping to catch Nathan Herne after running second at the Gold Coast

A pair of South Australian young rising stars, Sebastien Amadio and Blake Purdie, both have existing S5000 pedigree and will join Mark Rosser and S5000 debutant Brad Gartner in flying the flag for the SA drivers.

Gartner, a convert from dirt track Speedway racing, stepped from Hyundai Excel competition into Trans Am and TA2 racing this year – however will make another step up into S5000 this weekend.

Victorian young guns Jordan Boys and Cooper Webster will also front up for the Taman series closer, with the latter having had a strong S5000 championship for Versa Motorsport, finishing third in the 2022 standings.

The drivers tackle the Adelaide street circuit across three races in the December 1-4 event, with FIA and Motorsport Australia Circuit Licence requirements once again seeing the category operating at a slightly reduced horsepower level to suit the Adelaide street circuit. 

Giancarlo Fisichella – pictured here in his final Formula 1 race in 2009 – will have a second crack at the S5000 machinery on the streets of Adelaide. Image: Andrew Ferraro/LAT Photographic

The minor reduction to their 560 Horsepower maximum, will not affect the use of the newly installed Push-to-Pass system that was used in competition for the first time at the Gold Coast 500.

Stefan Millard, team GRM team manager, spoke about the adaptability of the ‘Big Banger’ machines.

“We’re proud of how adaptable the cars are becoming in that we can tune and adapt them to suit different conditions should the need arise,” Millard said.

“We have worked closely with Roger Higgins at InnoV8 (category engine providers) to sort the right tuning for the vehicles and they perform extremely well.

“On a street circuit like Adelaide, the reduction in power will potentially make it easier to extract a lap time as putting power to the ground – which is critical on a street circuit – will be key. With the new surface we are very confident the cars will give the existing outright lap record a nudge.”

Herne took out the first clean sweep in the series’ history at the Gold Coast 500

Category manager Ben McMellan, echoed Millard’s sentiment on the forced changes, which are a result of the street circuit being classed as FIA Grade 3 track – as opposed to the Gold Coast’s Grade 2.

“We’re excited by the field assembled for Adelaide both in quality and quantity. It’s our second largest grid of the year – behind only the Grand Prix – and the best for a Tasman Series round,” McMellan said.

“We’re very comfortable with the changes to the cars. They are proving to be very adaptable to different conditions and if this is what it takes to be able to put on a great show at as many circuits as possible, then we will embrace it.”

VALO ADELAIDE 500 ENTRY LIST – S5000 Tasman Series


Team Valvoline GRM                            

Aaron Cameron                    



The Fuzzies Game Team BRM

Mark Rosser



Brad Gartner

Brad Gartner



Amadio Motorsport GRM

Sebastien Amadio



UCS Group Racing TMR

Tim Macrow



Team BRM

Joey Mawson



Team Valvoline GRM

Nathan Herne



Versa Motorsport

Cooper Webster



Nippy’s Versa Motorsport

Blake Purdie



Boost Mobile Racing

Jordan Boys



Team BRM

Giancarlo Fisichella



Team Valvoline GRM

Noah Sands



Burson Auto Parts Racing

Ben Bargwanna



Jude Bargwanna Motorsport

Jude Bargwanna




Elly Morrow


For more of the latest motorsport news pick up the latest issue of AUTO ACTION.

AUTO ACTION, Australia’s independent voice of motorsport.

The post Quality S5000 field for streets of Adelaide  appeared first on Auto Action.