SSR Enabled


Published at 6/7/2022

Another personnel change has taken place at Team 18 with Dennis Huisjer replacing John Moore as crew chief heading into the Darwin Triple Crown.

Huijser is an experienced Supercars figure, who has held the crew chief role at Erebus Motorsport from 2016-2020 and was part of its Bathurst 1000 triumph in 2017.

Originally from New Zealand, Huijser also worked at Grove Racing until earlier this year when he departed the team.

It’s been a busy month for the Victorian based Team 18, which welcomed Bruin Beasley as its new Team Manager last month.

Huijser will take over the crew chief role from John Moore who left the squad after the Winton SuperSprint.

Team Owner Charlie Schwerkolt welcomed Huijser and said he was excited to see the team grow with its new personnel.

“We’re thrilled to welcome Dennis Huijser to Team 18 as we look to draw on his experience and success in Supercars to propel the team forwards,” Schwerkolt said.

“There’s a real buzz around our staff at the moment with Dennis’ arrival and Bruin Beasley’s appointment as Team Manager, and we hope this will move us to a new level in the back half of 2022 and into the new era of the sport in 2023.

“Both of these guys share a relentless desire to win and a proven track record in preparing competitive cars and a high-performance team culture that brings results on track.

“We have got an extremely strong driver lineup who can do the job on race day, so we’re ready to get to work and hit the ground running next week up in Darwin.”

Huijser will be on deck with Team 18 next weekend in Darwin, as Mark Winterbottom and Scott Pye look to improve their Supercars Championship positions of 14th and 18th, respectively.

The team is set to reveal the indigenous-themed liveries for its pair of Holden Commodores on Friday June 10.

For more of the latest motorsport news pick up the current issue of Auto Action.


The post TEAM 18 NAMES NEW CREW CHIEF appeared first on Auto Action.